• Slider Image

Throughout his academic career, Dr. John H. Eichhorn's interests included anesthesia patient safety, standards of practice, risk management and accident analysis.

    SAN JOSE, CA, July 03, 2019 — Marquis Who's Who, the world's premier publisher of biographical profiles, is proud to present John H. Eichhorn, MD, with the Albert Nelson Marquis Lifetime Achievement Award. An accomplished listee, Dr. Eichhorn celebrates many years' experience in his professional network, and has been noted for achievements, leadership qualities, and the credentials and successes he has accrued in his field. As in all Marquis Who's Who biographical volumes, individuals profiled are selected on the basis of current reference value. Factors such as position, noteworthy accomplishments, visibility, and prominence in a field are all taken into account during the selection process.

Dr. Eichhorn is an anesthesiologist who practiced and taught as a Professor of Anesthesiology at the University of Kentucky in Lexington from 2003 to 2017. During his tenure on campus, he was notably named a Distinguished Professor. Teaching in academia for his entire career, he formerly taught at the Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center at the Harvard Medical School in Boston from 1979 to 1991 and was both a Professor and the Chair of Anesthesiology at the School of Medicine and Medical Center of the University of Mississippi from 1991 to 2003. Earlier in his career, Dr. Eichhorn served as a Research Associate at the National Cancer Institute in Bethesda, Maryland, between 1976 and 1978.

Throughout his academic career, Dr. Eichhorn's interests included anesthesia patient safety, standards of practice, risk management and accident analysis. He has authored over 70 papers based on his research, including a 1989 Anesthesiology paper that was notably the first to suggest dramatic improvement in anesthesia patient safety through the behaviors of continuous intraoperative “safety monitoring.” Most recently Dr. Eichhorn published “History of Anesthesia Patient Safety” in International Anesthesiology Clinics in 2018.

Dr. Eichhorn is a longstanding member and leader of the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation and a member of the American Society of Anesthesiologists. He has also served on numerous committees, including as the chair of the Harvard anesthesiology risk management committee. The practice standards published by that group in 1986 led to permanent changes everywhere that made anesthesia care safer for all patients. The founding Editor of the APSF Newsletter from 1985 to 2002, he continues to serve on the Editorial Board to this day. Dr. Eichhorn was involved with establishing the World Health Organization surgical safety checklist, which was created by an international group of experts gathered by the WHO with the goal of improving the safety of patients undergoing surgical procedures around the globe.

Growing up, Dr. Eichhorn very much enjoyed writing and in high school edited two weekly newspapers, one at his high school and one for a community. Intending to pursue journalism when he entered Princeton University in New Jersey, he soon changed his major and earned an AB magna cum laude in biology in 1969. Following this accomplishment, he went on to obtain a Doctor of Medicine from Harvard Medical School in 1973. Starting out in general surgery, Dr. Eichhorn switched and then completed an anesthesiology residency at the Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, Boston, and was then board certified by the American Board of Anesthesiology.

As a strong advocate for patients and practice improvements, and for his activism and transformative contributions, Dr. Eichhorn was recognized in 2010 with the John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Award for Individual Achievement, (often referred to as the “Nobel Prize” in patient safety) by the Joint Commission and National Quality Forum. In addition to being listed in “The Best Doctors in America” since its inception in 1992, he has also received the Educational Achievement Award from the Kentucky Medical Association. In light of all his accomplishments, Dr. Eichhorn has been showcased in the 67th through 70th editions of Who's Who in America and the 12th edition of Who's Who in Science and Engineering.

In recognition of outstanding contributions to his profession and the Marquis Who's Who community, Dr. Eichhorn has been featured on the Albert Nelson Marquis Lifetime Achievement website. Please visit www.ltachievers.com for more information about this honor.

About Marquis Who's Who®
Since 1899, when A. N. Marquis printed the First Edition of Who's Who in America®, Marquis Who's Who® has chronicled the lives of the most accomplished individuals and innovators from every significant field of endeavor, including politics, business, medicine, law, education, art, religion and entertainment. Today, Who's Who in America® remains an essential biographical source for thousands of researchers, journalists, librarians and executive search firms around the world. Marquis® now publishes many Who's Who titles, including Who's Who in America®, Who's Who in the World®, Who's Who in American Law®, Who's Who in Medicine and Healthcare®, Who's Who in Science and Engineering®, and Who's Who in Asia®. Marquis® publications may be visited at the official Marquis Who's Who® website at www.marquiswhoswho.com.

# # #

Powered by WPeMatico