Salinas, CA August 21, 2018 – Concerts are held on Saturday evenings at 8 p.m. and on Sunday afternoons at 3 p.m., at the Sunset Center in Carmel. For information about subscriptions and single ticket sales visit our website at or call the box office at (831) 646-8511.

October 20-21, 2018
Max Bragado-Darman – Conductor
Alex Berko – Among Waves (Big Sur Commission)
Franz Schubert – Symphony No. 9, D. 944 (“The Great”)

The Monterey Symphony will open the 73rd season – Sound Waves – with Franz Schubert's Symphony No. 9, “The Great;” and a new work from composer Alex Berko, commissioned in collaboration with the Big Sur Land Trust, entitled Among Waves.

Berko, an exceptional student at the Jacobs School of Music at Indiana University, spent a week in residence at the Glen Deven Ranch in Big Sur, drawing inspiration from the deep beauty of the landscape for inclusion in his new orchestral work. Glen Deven Ranch played a role in the first commission with the Big Sur Land Trust, resulting in Big Sur, the Night Sun by esteemed composer John Wineglass. Do not miss this opportunity to hear the premier of the Alex Berko's Among Waves, the second work in this series, with Max Bragado-Darman and the Monterey Symphony!

November 17 & 18, 2018
Max Bragado-Darman – Conductor
Hector Berlioz – Overture, Le corsaire, Op. 21

Carl Nielsen – Flute Concerto, FS 119
Carol Wincenc – Flute
Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky – Symphony No. 4, Op. 36

Tchaikovsky's Symphony No. 4, Op. 36 – often referred to as the “Fate” symphony because of the dark undertones – headlines the second concert of the season. Written in the shadow of Beethoven's masterful Symphony No. 5, Tchaikovsky echoes the great master's melancholy in this hallmark orchestral work.

Carol Wincenc, professor of flute at Juilliard, joins the orchestra for Carl Nielsen's Flute Concerto, composed in 1926 for the legendary flautist M. Holger-Gilbert Jespersen. This concert will also feature members of the Youth Music Monterey County Honors Orchestra playing side-by-side on Hector Berlioz's Overture, Le corsaire, Op. 21, which, like the Tchaikovsky symphony, was also composed during a period of great despair.

Join us one hour prior to every performance for our pre-concert lectures presented by musicologist Dr. Todd Samra.

Tickets can be purchased online or by calling 831-646-8511. Tickets may also be purchased at the box office on the day of performance. Please note the box office opens 90 minutes prior to each performance.

Subscriptions are now available. Please contact the box office for availability at (831) 646-8511. For more information and pricing visit:


Powered by WPeMatico